Music Review: What a Beautiful Name

My thoughts on Hillsong’s “What a Beautiful Name”.

My favorite thing to do while studying, cleaning, or laying in bed doing nothing is to listen to music. Sometimes I am haphazardly listening and other times I can go into full worship mode and really sing the words of the song I am listening to. That being said, I love discussing the music I listen to and talking about what the song means.

For this post I decided to take a look at the song “What a Beautiful Name” by Hillsong. I don’t listen to Christian radio all that much, I mostly just listen to Pandora and Spotify, so I didn’t hear this song until the worship team at my church started singing it. As soon as I heard it I fell in love. The instrumentals alone are amazing and anything by Hillsong automatically gets a gold star from me! Just for your reference the song is number one this week on the “Hot Christian Songs” billboards.

This song has solid doctrine from the very first line, “You were the Word at the beginning.” This comes from John 1:1 “In the beginning was the Word…” The first verse continues in the same way that John 1 does. I appreciate how scripturally accurate this first verse of the song is. Some of the songs written for Christian radio have a great beat and have uplifting lyrics but they aren’t always lined up with the Word. This song, almost like a hymn, is taken straight from the Word.

Each chorus has a one word difference. “What a beautiful, wonderful, and powerful name it is.” Sometimes I don’t like when a song is so repetitive so, to me, changing up the chorus a little bit is just musically genius!

Finally, the bridge of the song. This is one of the best bridges I have heard, next to “Great Are You Lord.”

“Death could not hold You, the veil tore before You
You silenced the boast, of sin and grave
The heavens are roaring, the praise of Your glory
For You are raised to life again
You have no rival, You have no equal
Now and forever, Our God reigns
Yours is the Kingdom, Yours is the glory
Yours is the Name, above all names”
I mean seriously, when is the last time you saw a song with this much power? And again, it is right on with the Word.
I give this song a five out of five. I literally cannot think of anything that needed to be done differently. Hillsong crushed it again. I encourage you to check it out!
Proclaim His praises!
~Sally

Leave a Reply

