The Chosen Generation

What is this chosen generation you speak of?

Maybe you have just stumbled across this website and you are thinking, “okay… so what is this chosen generation?” Valid question! Maybe I should explain where all of this is coming from!

11133501823_7f75ab2fbb_c
Photo Credit: Sapphire Dream Photography vis Visual Hunt/ CC BY-NC-ND

When I was a sophomore in high school I really started getting to know Christ for myself (more of my testimony will be shared in future posts) and one of the first verses I fell in love with was 1 Peter 2:9. I loved that it said that my generation was a chosen one. Okay, I realize that the verse was written two thousand years ago but the Bible is relevant today too! When I read it I remember thinking, “everyone says that my generation is awful and that we are all a bunch of mess ups, but God is saying that my generation is chosen.” I really liked that. Other translations will say “chosen people” so this verse is one of the only ones you will see me take out of the New King James, either way, I’m chosen. You are chosen! God has given us a purpose!

 

I can’t tell you what your specific purpose is but I can tell you what your general purpose is. My church’s “mission statement” is “For the glory of God and the souls of men.” That my friend, is this generations purpose. God has chosen us to first, glorify him, and in so doing we will go out for the souls of men! How exciting that God has chosen us to be the ones to do that! I don’t know what that looks like for you. For me, currently, it is studying cell biology in the library forever and a day to earn a degree so that I can serve God as an occupational therapist. And I’m good with that. I have heard from the Lord and I know what he is calling me to do.

Have you? What is your calling? Though it may not be clear I know one thing for sure: You are chosen to lead this generation, “for the glory of God and the souls of men!”

Now… GO! Be the chosen generation you are called to be!

Proclaim His praises!

~Sally

 

*Featured Image: Stathis Stavrianos (Stathis_1980) via VisualHunt.com / CC BY-NC-ND

Leave a Reply

